sign your name

If you tuned in for the 100th post here at lifeinthecyclelane, or indeed, you followed my progress in the 2014 Errandonnee challenge, you’ll know that rule bending is commonplace. Heck, it’s almost encouraged.

And so it was with my dubious 4th entry into the 2014 Chasing Mailboxes Coffeeneuring Challenge.

  1. Where I went: Coffee shop without walls (sort of): Keep Pedalling, 23 Hilton Street, Manchester, M1 1EL.
  2. Date I went there: Tuesday 21st October 2014.
  3. What I drank: Shona made me a cup of Earl Grey tea which I had with a couple of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.
  4. A detail or two about my coffeeneuring ride: Well, I guess this is where I explain the flimsy rationale behind my rule bending… You see, this past weekend I had all kinds of evil plans to escape for 2 days of cycling and, of course, coffeeneuring. Alas, I was discovered and instead spent all of Saturday selling cake before delivering an engagement party cake in the evening (and spending time at the party). Sunday was largely taken up with chores and cleaning.
    Happily enough, I’d booked Monday & Tuesday off work so technically these 2 days count as my weekend, right? RIGHT? Again, Monday was swallowed up by chores but today I finally managed to escape on the bike. By pure coincidence, my friends who run the bike shop had asked whether I’d pop in and countersign a passport application for them.
    So, I headed off and battled the remains of Hurricane Gonzalo which is currently battering the UK. Despite its immense weight, even my Surly Troll struggled to stay upright in the relentless crosswinds; the axle deep flooding along the riverbank proved to be no challenge at all, however.
    I made it to the shop unscathed and dutifully filled in the endless forms in my capacity as “an upstanding member of the community” (!) and enjoyed a cup of Earl Grey tea with a couple of Reese’s Peanut Butter cups.
    So, whilst technically neither an actual coffee shop or a coffee shop without walls, or even an actual weekend day, I reckon it still counts. Just.
    Oh, and surely I get extra points for going out in a hurricane.
  5. Bike friendliness of the locale: As you’d expect from a bike shop, it scores very highly here – there are racks right outside to lock your bike to and there’s always someone to chat to about bikes, gear and other such nonsense.
  6. Mileage: As is the way of things, I didn’t keep track but it was at least 12 for the round trip.
  7. Must visit?: But, of course. However, I can’t guarantee you’ll get a cuppa!

coffeeneuring4 earl grey tea

Leave a Reply

