walking in memphis

 

Here’s a gratuitous shot of cake because… well, because cake is the answer.

It doesn’t matter what the question is.

1526471_10152316134634863_1075689087_nAs you may know, my ever-so-patient girlfriend Karen of karensbakingroom.co.uk fame makes rather delicious cakes. This one was a Swedish Princess cake [no Swedish Princesses were harmed in the making of said cake] with 3 layers of sponge, creme anglais, creme patissiere, fresh raspberries, whipped cream, marzipan and other such deliciousness.

What you might not know is that I have the utterly miserable job of quality controlling just about everything that comes out of the kitchen. In this case, I had to eat an entire prototype mini Swedish Princess cake.

It’s a rough job, but somebody’s gotta do it.

1780784_10152379319114863_1068223480_nBut it’s not all glamour, marzipan and weight gain; I have to work for it too, you know. Here’s a gratuitous shot of me in my cow hat which Karen hates with a passion like you can’t imagine.

Shortly after this picture was taken, I was chained to the market stall and forced to work my charms on unsuspecting customers who ended up buying copious amounts of cake they didn’t know they wanted or needed.

But it’s not all cow hats, flirting and slave labour.

On a rare free Saturday morning, I was all ready to take off for a day of mountain biking in t’ hills until I heard “Oh, can you just pick me up some soured cream and chocolate chips?”.

What on Earth she was making, I do not know.

Not one to turn down a bit of bonus unexpected errandonneering, I dutifully picked up a backpack and headed for the shops (via t’ hills).

Errand #8: picking up chocolate chips & soured cream | category: grocery store | miles: 25 | thing I learned / observed: ‘Elvis Milkshake’ slices are deelish.

Here’s a gratuitous shot of said Elvis Milkshake slices as proof of my errandonneering:

1897882_10152500817569863_291579638_nOh, by the way, an Elvis Milkshake consists of bananas, chocolate and peanut butter. The cake it inspired is basically a banana sponge with chocolate chips and a peanut butter frosting (which I’m told contains a certain amount of soured cream).

I ate mine with a glass of Marston’s Oyster Stout, it was a surprisingly pleasant combo.

4 thoughts on “walking in memphis

  1. Pingback: life is life | life in the cycle lane

  2. Pingback: the final countdown | life in the cycle lane

Leave a Reply

