not what i wanted

 

On any given journey there is a point of no return, i.e. the point at which you’ve gone so far towards your destination that there’s no way you’re going back again, no matter what.

On my way to work yesterday, I realised just over half way in that I’d forgotten to pick up a clean shirt and was therefore faced with a choice of a) going back home to get one, b) spending the day in the office wearing my sweaty cycling jersey, or c) buying myself an emergency shirt on the way in.

1625498_10152490374934863_2131819612_nI went for option c) and, not having a lock on me, wheeled my bike into Marks & Spencer and went in search of something to wear. Over in the corner I spotted what looked like a shirt & jumper (that’s like a sweater for those of the American persuasion) on a hanger. A shirt and a jumper for £21? Bargain.

So, I grabbed a nice looking purple-ish one, ran over to the counter, paid, paused to take a quick picture as errandonnee evidence and headed for work.

It wasn’t until after I’d showered and torn the tags off that I realised my new garment wasn’t quite the bargain it first appeared to be. What appeared at first glance to be a separate shirt & jumper turned out to be a jumper with a shirt collar sewn onto it!

The hell?

I suppose, in hindsight, I really should’ve just turned back.

Ah well, a bit of bonus errandonneering can’t be too bad.

  • Errand #5 is my second entry into the ‘any store that isn’t the grocery store category’ (can’t use that one any more)
  • The thing I learned was it’s better to take your time and check what you’re buying
  • Total mileage for the errand: 6 miles
2 thoughts on “not what i wanted

  1. Pingback: see my vest | life in the cycle lane

  2. Pingback: the final countdown | life in the cycle lane

Leave a Reply

