it’s the end of the world as we know it (and i feel fine)

 

You may recall, way back in 2012, several things happened:

  • The UK hosted a quite spectacular Olympic Games
  • Her Maj celebrated her Diamond Jubilee
  • Some other royals got married
  • We all got an extra day off work
  • I built my Surly Troll
  • If you read the Maya prophecy in just the right way, the world was supposed to end

Happily, the world didn’t end and, a year later in 2013, some other things have happened:

  • The UK hosted an apparently equally spectacular anniversary games (I didn’t see it so this is based purely on what Facebook tells me)
  • Her Maj has stuck around, stubbornly refusing to let poor old Charlie have a go in the big chair
  • The other royals have apparently had a baby (again, this is purely based on the Facebook based hysteria I’ve unfriended people for)
  • We all had to go to work
  • I’ve fallen out of love with my Surly Troll (based on the fact I hardly ever ride it anymore)
  • It turns out the Maya were all wrong (I’m basing this on the fact people are still posting pictures of their cats on Facebook)

Oh, one more thing happened in 2012:

  • A few chaps who work at Brooks England went out back, selected an unlucky few of their organic cows from the herd and decided to make a limited run of 2012 of their B17 saddle, called ‘The World Traveller’

And earlier today, in 2013, this happened:

  • I bought number 110 / 2012

The usual selection of gratuitous, full frontal, close up, high definition glory shots of said saddle mounted atop my steed will of course follow in due course along with another eye-wateringly expensive upgrade for my much neglected touring machine.

ssshhh… don’t tell Karen. She’ll kill me. Kill me dead. And, if she ever finds out quite how much these 2 new parts have cost, she’ll revive me and then kill me dead again.

For now, you’ll just have to make do with this teasing picture of the box. Enjoy!

1185791_10151877005174863_999948365_n

9 thoughts on “it’s the end of the world as we know it (and i feel fine)

  1. This works for me:

    Me: I need a new xyz because the existing xyz is broken and dangerous so I have no choice other than to replace it or the entire bike, high end bikes aren’t cheap. I’ll order it if that is ok and the package will arrive within a few days.
    Wife: If you must, then you must, you can’t have a new one because I know they aren’t cheap and you have enough already.

    These don’t:

    Wife: what’s this package?
    Or
    Wife: when did you get that? I’ve not seen that before.
    That last one seems innocent enough, but next minute “I’m going on a spa day or getting abc because yooou bought a new xyz”

    It’s not that my wife controls the monies, but she controls what could turn into a bad addiction if left uncontrolled.

    You’ve got past the “package arrival” phase, now to install it, hide the evidence and pretend like you’ve had it for years and she already knew about it lol

    Finally, please sell your surley and buy a silly fat bike, I want one, damn that all seasons cyclist!

    • Ha! As much as I like the All Seasons Cyclist’s Pug, I’m not sure a fat bike is for me… maybe if I lived near the coast or in a place where decent snowfall was predictable but I suspect they’re not too well suited to commuting around Manchester!

      • You make a very convincing argument!

        By the by, if you ever find yourself needing to get rid of that Rohloff you have in Rudy because… I don’t know… maybe the wife doesn’t ride it often enough… you know where to send it.

  2. Laughing so hard here, Tim 😀
    You might want to try sleeping with one eye open or you’ll find yourself sleeping with the fish….
    *hands Karen some sharpened fishforks*

Leave a Reply

