le voyage de pénélope

Just time for a quickie tonight folks; sit back and let the plinky plunky French randomness wash over you…

Oh, and please don’t worry; no shocking pink saddles were harmed in the production of this blog post.

994151_10151707854699863_1000163482_nWe had some friends over for dinner recently and with them they brought this old steel framed Peugeot… somethingorother.

“The gears won’t work” and a few other minor issues were on the list so I quickly threw it in the workstand and gave my friend a masterclass in setting derailleur limit screws and adjusting cable tension. With the rusty old thumshifters back doing what they should be, I turned my attention to the rusty old cantilever brakes which were also horribly adjusted. After I’d whipped out my 4th hand tool (how did I ever live without that???), I realised both wheels needing truing, all the cables needed replacing, the handlebars needed throwing out along with the ridiculous foam grips and… well, the list went on.

Since then, I’ve done a bit of work on it to at least get it rolling and took it out for a spin on Salford’s mean streets. Our good friends over at Keep Pedalling, Manchester (once they’d finished taking the mickey out of me for riding it in public) supplied me with new cables and new handlebar grips which I fitted this avo.

I had all sorts of plans to take Penelope out this evening for a good shakedown ride on the trails but, the Troll gave me that “you-never-ride-me-anymore-since-you-built-that-slinky-little-Kinesis” look so Penelope will just have to wait for another day.

Needless to say, I headed directly for the trails. Didn’t pass Go. Didn’t collect £200. I did however, get mud all over the bike, all over my self and even some in my eyes – that’ll teach me for taking the mudguards off!

1014286_10151710961999863_2045664737_n

Leave a Reply

