mr. writer

Bald, bearded and (in this picture) berating me for not getting his wheels fixed as I’d allegedly promised to, my very good friend and preferred cycling buddy Geordie Clarke is Deputy editor at Money Management magazine (part of the Financial Times Group). He also happens to be a wine aficionado and is mainly to blame for my interest in all things cycling related; you can read his wine blog here.

Anyway, I happen to be going away for a much needed holiday in the sun for a week so in the meantime, I am entrusting my blog to Geordie in the vain hope that he’ll post a guest entry or two about his collection of bikes which includes a full carbon Condor, a titanium Planet X, a steel Surly Long Haul Trucker and a couple of other bikes in various stages of being built / taken apart.

Also on our list of shared interests (along with bikes, food and redheads) is a penchant for really good beer. Incidentally, sweet talking your way into the Ironbridge Brewery doesn’t make their beer any cheaper or better… It’s OK, but I’m not sure it’s good enough to warrant the hideous climb back out of Ironbridge Gorge. So, maybe GC here will regale us with tales of his beer drinking adventures instead?

Well, whatever he ends up writing about, I’m sure it’ll keep you entertained whilst I’m sitting in the sun, sipping a Sangria… unless he starts writing about pension plans and the such… zzzzzzzz

5 thoughts on “mr. writer

    • Good point, Tim! I’m personally just hoping I can still cycle when I get to retirement age… and, being a civil servant, I’m also worrying about whether I’ll ever be allowed to actually retire at all! 🙄

      • Yes, it’ll be retire when you die by the time I get to retirement age.
        Cyclists generally keep going longer than most other sports. If you can walk then you can normally gently cycle I suppose. You can always take up swiming if cycling gets too much.

  1. Pingback: monster | life in the cycle lane

  2. Pingback: one headlight | life in the cycle lane

Leave a Reply

