gold

This has to be one of my all time favourite loads I’ve transported in my BOB Yak; it was the first time I’d tried transporting a whole bike and, with the creative use of nothing more than a few bungee cords, it all fitted in just fine and was perfectly stable for the whole trip.

The bike in question was an uber cool, uber rare, vintage Coventry Eagle frame which was my 1st vintage build. It came to me in a fairly rough state and basically needed new… well, everything. The reason it ended up on the trailer is because the 27″ wheelset I’d bought simply wasn’t working out properly with the brakes and I also needed to get the bottom bracket rebuilt so I broke down and took it into the bike shop for some advice.

After a considerable amount of head scratching with the boys at Sprocket Cycles in Digbeth, Birmingham (one of my favourite bike shops ever, by the way), we finally decided that, despite its age, this frame was actually built for 700c wheels, not the slightly larger 27″ ones I’d bought. Oh well, you live and learn, I guess.

Sprocket also fitted this rather beautiful ‘Phoenix’ chainset I found on eBay with new cotter pins after replacing the bearings in the BB; happily the cups and axle were still in great shape. That’s a Gusset Slink half link chain, by the way, which is the only way to go if you’re running a single speed (or internally geared hub) setup as it makes tension adjustment so much more precise; not to mention the variety of colours it comes in!

Oh, back to the Yak! The other reason this is one of my favourite loads is it was one of the first outings with my riduculously shiny, ridiculously heavy, ridiculously ridiculous gold lowrider wheel with white wall tyre! I’d been looking for a wheel to replace the awful stock one that comes with every BOB trailer for some time and, a trip to Ridelow in Manchester and £40 later, this is what i got… I don’t care how absurd it is, I love it!

All joking apart though, if you’re looking to add some stability to your Yak, particularly if you generally only carry relatively light loads, a heavy steel wheel like this really helps to plant the trailer and stop it bouncing up and unsettling the bike on those bumpy city streets. Those 16 x 1.75″ white wall tyres are rated up to 60 psi according to the sidewalls (I’ve run them at 80 psi very comfortably), have a semi-slick type tread but no puncture protection so again, I’d only really recommend them for light duties.

Leave a Reply

